No. of Recommendations: 0
DH and I aren't really married, yet. We plan on taking care of that after this tax year.

He makes $55k a year as an engineer, I make $28k as a librarian. That is, I will when I start my new full time position on Monday (yay me!). I was making half that working half time--not by choice.

He pays the mortgage and his car out of his account (for tax reasons) and the rest of our money is pooled into our joint account that I use to pay for utilities, food, student loans, and the dreaded CC bills.

What I have:

CapOne - 9.9% - $450
National City - 8.9% - $3200
MBNA - 10.5% - $2200

What he has:

MBNA - 13.5% - $6600

This means we have $12450 in CC debt. Our total snowball amount starting next month will be $1500. I think we can have this paid off in just under a year. I was approved for a Citibank Illumina Card with a limit of $3600 and balance transfer option of 0% from the date of 1st transfer, up to 6 transfers, for 6 months. After that 9.9%.

I'm trying to decide what to move. I know it looks obvious that I should move as much of DH's MBNA as possible, but something (selfish) inside me is holding back. Last year I transfered $4500 from his MBNA to National City for a 0% rate that has since expired (and now remains at $3200). And while he has been so good for the past 6 months (he doesn't carry the card anymore), I can't help but feel resentful that his card has run back up so high. We both had a problem in college, and now we're serious about getting rid of the debt, and honestly a big chunk of his card were emergencies (i.e. airfare, tuition) that we didn't have an efund for. That is quickly being corrected.

Please tell me I'm being silly. I mean, he brings home more bacon than me, and he pays the mortgage... I just hate putting so much debt in my name, even if it would be paid off fairly quickly.

Any thoughts?

laura

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 6