No. of Recommendations: 0
I could use some help/advice on a problem I have with my iMac (late 2012 iMac running Mojave).
Recently, my iMac would not wake from sleep mode. After a hard shutdown, it took many hours (over 12?) to reboot and operated extremely slowly and again could not wake from sleep. I tried rebooting in Safe Mode (better, but still slow and then what?)and a PRAM reset. Running the disc utility repair option did not indicate any problems. I am able to boot up the computer from my SuperDuper backup on an external drive but unable to boot up from the internal hard drive.
Should I erase the hard drive and reinstall the OS? If I do this, can I reinstall the OS from the SuperDuper backup (or simply copy the external drive onto the hard drive?). Any other ideas or options? I'm far from an expert on Macs and the idea of erasing the hard drive makes me nervous but I'm not sure what else I can do. Any advice is welcome - Thank you!
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
I am assuming you do not have a full HDD - like you need 10% of the capacity empty. If that is not the case - first item is clean things up. Look at downloads folder. Empty Trash. Look at Applications.

I would perform a hardware check -- here is a link to Apple's software for checking hardware. I have not used this, but I expect such a test will take some time. Guess I am wrong - Apple says this takes minutes.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201257
You have a number of symptoms, each of which can arise from separate problems or be related.

What does the screen show when you are "unable to boot up from the internal hard drive"?

Do you have peripherals attached, and have you tried booting from the internal drive with all peripherals removed? If your iMac is fine with peripherals detached, you have a hardware problem possibly related to the ports, or maybe you have a driver issue.