Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Greetings, I am turning to the board again for help. I am a 2002 graduate of an internal medicine residency (despite my screen name!). Since October I have been moonlighting in Urgent Care but it looks like I am going to accept a poition as an associate in a group practice come March. I will continue moonlighting through February as an independent contractor but when I sign the contract I won't be able to do this anymore.

Nonetheless, my new income will be a base salary of around $120K per annum plus bonuses if certain productivity targets are met. To me, this is a pretty big number, especially as I have just done a rough computation of my 2002 taxes and my 2002 taxable income is under $18K!

So now I am coming here to ask several questions about filling out my W-4 withholdings, plus to request information on how to handle quarterly estimated payments if I must make them to cover for the taxes owed on the income generated by my independent contractor moonlighting. Some facts: I am single and I don't expect this status to change in 2003 (my fiance and I have not yet set a date). I have no dependents. I can claim "1" for exemptions - not blind, not over 65. I do not anticipate any deduction for retirement contributions in 2003 nor will I be eligible for any credit towards student loan interest payment. The only other increase in my income from the base salary will be any interest and dividends I earn (which I expect won't exceed, say, $600 - my so-called savings is going straight to the student loan debt), plus my moonlighting which by the end of February will total something like $6000 gross year to date. I've set aside about 60% of these proceeds in anticipation of the federal (including SSI/Medicare) and Arizona state taxes owed on it but have not distributed these proceeds yet in the form of quarterly payments. I'm told I will be paid biweekly.

My questions: