Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I am currently an independent contractor/sole proprietor. I'm wondering if incorporating would resolve some of the issues/dangers that companies face by hiring me as an independent contractor. Essentially fear of the IRS determining that I am an employee rather than an independent. I want to enter into a long-term contracting relationship with one specific firm but wonder what the ramifications of that would be as an independent and whether they could be resolved if I incorporated. I do not want to become an employee of this company.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Potts
Print the post Back To Top
The IRS has publications which list how to tell if you fit the "independent contractor" status under tax code or if you are dangerously near being classified as an employee. The type of business you are in would make a difference, is it typical for your type of business to be sole proprietor or are you on the edge?

I am trucking biz and drivers are treated by different companies as employees or independent contractors. The IRS targets our industry for audit. With justification I might add.

M
No. of Recommendations: 1
You ask if "incorporating would resolve some of the issues/dangers that companies face by hiring me as an independent contractor. Essentially fear of the IRS determining that I am an employee rather than an independent."

It may not resolve the issues but it helps. If you incorporate you are then an employee of the corporation and the client contracts with the corporation to use it's employees.

All that said however, the IRS still looks at the relationship between the client and you. Read http://www.irs.gov/prod/forms_pubs/pubs/p15a04.htm
for the scoop.

Sandy
The Weller Group, Inc.
No. of Recommendations: 1
Hi,