Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi everyone I am still a bit of a novice and a Brit who loves the site. My fiancee is due to recieve $175,000 soon and we are looking to invest it for the next 2 to 5 years. She is an american living with me here in South America, we plan to move to the states over the above time span.
My ideas are to put $100,000 in a CD with an internet bank.
$40,000 into a index fund or spider ? not sure.
$20,000 into some rule maker stock.

How does this seem? should I consider any thing else?

Be grateful of any help at all.

Thanks
JR
Print the post Back To Top
You don't want to have $100,000 in one bank. As it earns interest, it will go over $100,000 in that one account, and I understand (you both need to check this out to be sure) that funds over $100K in one bank are not covered by the insurance. Do your math on the interest accrual timespan, and make sure the account is in toto under $100K. PS Just because the money is insured doesn't mean you can get it right away in case of bank closure/failure....keep this in mind also if you are likely to need it in a short (six months to two years') time.
$100K + $40K + $20K = $160K. Hope you both have other funds for her taxes and your mutual travel and living expenses; $15K won't cut it for two to five years unless you both have substantial other funds and/or jobs.

If you need to keep the 100,000 for a future need then your plan is ok.

If the 100,000 is part of a long term investment plan then it should be in equities.

I would go with the Spider over the fund because you can use limit orders to buy and sell.
>> My ideas are to put $100,000 in a CD with an internet bank. <<

First of all, don't put $100,000 into it. Put an amount which will *become* $100,000 at the time the CD matures. Otherwise, you'll end up with more than $100,000 in the account and some of it won't be protected.

>> $40,000 into a index fund or spider ? <<