Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 2
Here are some of my investment thoughts as the U.S. economy enters into a "late cycle" stage of historically-low unemployment levels, with the U.S. yield curve almost inverting as the Fed promises a total of three 25-bps rate hikes for the remainder of 2018.

FWIW - I have been writing a macro newsletter since the early 2000s and as of today, am working as a portfolio strategist for a global Fortune 500 company. Here are some of somewhat scattered thoughts. Comments are highly welcomed.

* There is no set timeline for the end of the current bull market. This is especially true today given: 1) it has taken a uniquely long time (based on post WWII standards) for the U.S. economy and for U.S. consumer confidence to recover. As of today - despite 4.1% U3 unemployment - higher wage pressures are still missing. This may be due to higher-paid boomers retiring and being replaced with lower-paid millennials; even if wage pressures increase, it may not necessarily translate to higher inflation since many millennials will likely use their higher income to pay down their historically high student loan indebtedness, 2) Europe and many EM countries are still operating significantly below potential output. The caveat here is that what happens in China today now has an impact on global and even U.S. asset prices, and the timing of the Chinese economic cycle is highly unpredictable.