Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 30
Hello Fools,

I've mostly lurked here and on the COMS board for the last few months. I created what follows as "homework" for the Rule Breaker seminar that is now winding down. I thought it would be of obvious interest on this board (and to the COMS and RB Companies boards, where I'm also posting it). I'd love to hear your comments, criticisms, etc, but please be gentle - I'm new to this.

A note of disclosure: I invested in 3-Com back in September and October in anticipation of the spin-off of Palm to 3-Com shareholders. I had just finished reading "Rule Makers, Rule Breakers," and thought Palm had all the earmarks of a Rule Breaker. The extra "due diligence" of the last few weeks has shaken my confidence a bit, but I'm still holding my COMS shares.

Anyway...here's a review my thoughts on how Palm stacks up against the official Rule Breaker criteria with a little help from the...(ahem)...Magic 8 Ball! Also, note that the stock price and market cap statistics are from Monday.

The top dog and first mover in an important, emerging industry

"It is decidedly so."

An important emerging industry? For those few who don't know (and according to tonight's MF poll, that would be only 2% of those visiting the Fool), Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs), are small pocket sized computer devices that feature pen-based input, store and manipulate mostly personal information (like names, addresses, phone numbers, calendars, to-do lists, memos and much more) and synchronize that data with a desktop personal computer (to applications like MS Outlook and Lotus Organizer).

In the seminar, David Gardner suggested other benchmarks of an emerging industry: huge growth curve, wide scope and possibilities beyond that.