Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 3
It took me 6 years to get my undergraduate degree, due to a combination of poor time management and change of major. I worked part-time jobs throughout, and my parents paid the difference, so I graduated without debt. (Of course, this was back in the dark ages when college didn't cost as much...)

So for our kids, to be fair, DH & I promised to cover 6 years of college. We figured they should be free to explore different options, find themselves, make mistakes and learn from those, etc. If after 6 years they were still in college, then completion was on them.

DD decided in high school what she wanted, and didn't change her mind. She completed both undergrad and grad schools in the 6 years allotted. DS had no clue, but did complete his undergrad degree in 4 years, graduating into the 2009 recession. No jobs here, so went abroad to teach English for two years (they covered room & board, so he came home penniless but at least not in debt), then headed to law school. We covered the first two years, he took out loans for 3rd year.

We weren't thrilled about the law school route. Lawyers are a dime a dozen, and there frankly aren't enough jobs for all of them. I accompanied my dad to his law school's annual "old guard" luncheons for a few years, which were ostensibly about fund-raising, but the Dean was frank that "Of course we're happy to get donations, but what we really need is job opportunities for our graduates. So if you have, or know of, a firm that can hire, please please please contact us." One broken-hearted professor related that his favorite student committed suicide upon graduation.
It was a competitive school, all their students were really the best and the brightest, but there were just not enough jobs. And the law school DS attended was 2nd tier, so of course we weren't optimistic about his prospects. But, his decision.

Fast forward: