Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 3
Like a lot of people I think I've experienced quite a range of emotions these past few weeks -- from fear -- lots and lots of it, to resignation as I've watched most of our net worth drop 45% plus in the market over the last year. My coping mechanism has been to read all the market history I can find in order to find some reasons to have confidence in the future and try to laugh at the parodies on the situation as Rome feels like it's burning (the Fool's article on what they'd write if they wrote the Onion was pretty clever).

Disclaimer: What I'm going to write offers no suggestions for anyone to follow -- just my recent experience. Maybe it will be helpful, maybe not -- I'm a fairly inexperienced investor.

Lessons learned (or that I'm still learning):

1. Diversity will SAVE you.

I'm DOWN 45+% percent since Oct 2007, and I still own the following swath of devastated stocks [FMD 4 positions (90%), AIB -- 4 positions (70%), CRZ - 1 pos (95%, CX - 3 pos (70%), PRS - 4 pos (80%), MF - 2 positions (80%), JLL - 1 pos (70%), SCSS 2 pos - (70%)]. I only put in a few hundred $ per month (1 pos for me) and have been for several years, but as you might imagine, that's a lot of months of income totally wiped out. The bright side is that many more positions are either not down nearly as bad and a few are even positive over the past few years. I own positions in 70 or so Companys, so one implosion or even 8 major implosions do not sink the ship.

2. Small + International = MASSIVE VOLATILITY