Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
<Any runners/walkers out there? I'm a newbie to this racing thing. The web site for the race indicates it is a benefit for the local food bank. Nowhere can I find how much (if any) of the registration fee goes to the food bank.>

Pretty much every race is for the benefit of a charity. Some of them benefit formal charities while many others are designed to help out a particular person or family in dire need. I would guess that part of your entry fee could be deductable, but you would probably have to offset that with any benefit you receive. It is probably like sending a $100 donation to PBS and getting a DVD, CD and a totebag back from them. The costs of what you get back should be deducted from your original contribution.

Most of the better races have nice refreshments afterwards. All of the races give you a T-shirt(some of them give you a long sleeve shirt or even a nice collared shirt). Many of them give you a goody bag with various products inside them. A fair number have drawings after the race for various prizes (gift certificates for dinner or shopping, etc) based on your bib number. In November the Turkey Trot races often give away certificates for free turkeys to a 100 or more runners. Some have given away free airline tickets or stays at a resort. It all depends on how successful the race is run over the years.