No. of Recommendations: 0
<<“Ms. Phipps and her husband agreed that an art school would be the best fit for Isabella, who wants a career in animation. Specialized schools can be expensive, even when they’re public: The cost of attendance at the school where she’s now a freshman, the Massachusetts College of Art and Design, was about $55,400 for out-of-state students.”>>

Another family breaking themselves on the wheel of college loans.

Just sign HERE.

I suppose both the child and the parents will be debted up to the eyeballs as a result.

Seattle Pioneer
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
FWIW, if she's planning on med school then it almost doesn't make a difference where she does pre-med. The important thing is grad (medical) school. So she could attend a state university for much less, excel there, and apply for the grad school she wants. They really look at your last degree, not your first (e.g. I have a master's at UofA; no one cares where I got my bachelors). Heck, she could attend community college for the first two years (take care of English, social studies, etc), and then transfer to a state school to finish her bachelors. Saves a LOT of money.

1poorguy
No. of Recommendations: 1
true. My SIL attended a good but not excellent college, where did super well, got a PhD at MIT and is now a tenured scientist at a top research university/med school.
FWIW, if she's planning on med school then it almost doesn't make a difference where she does pre-med.

Thanks. Yes, this one is a state school. $25k/year seems to be about the going rate. She's doing AP classes in high school, which will take care of some of those basic college classes.

Right now she wants to be a psychiatrist, probably specializing in pediatric psychiatry. A worthy ambition, with a long way to go.
She's doing AP classes in high school, which will take care of some of those basic college classes.