Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 17
<<Now that the Enron incident has taken place, companies like xom, which have clear, transparent, and no accounting smoke and mirrows bull-shit, but real cash flow, real earnings, and superior management and thus return, will command a premium in their stock price simply because of "safety" and quality of earnings. oil consultant >>

As some of you may know from my earlier postings, I am a 20+ year lady veteran of Exxon Mobil, living in Baton Rouge, so I am very biased in favor of xom. Having said that, what "oil consultant" has said in the quote above, in my opinion, is very true.

I have found it a delight to work for this company. And I have found that they are, as someone said before "straight shooters". Every year before the end of December I have to sign a piece of paper that says I have read the "ethics policy", which includes also the rules on anti-trust. And they provide me every year with a copy of these rules, and also the rest of the management employees. When I sign I have to state that I have read and understood the policy, so that if something happens, I cannot claim ignorance.

The system of compliance is such that it promotes honesty and openess, and in the "open door policy" and the "non harrassment policy" I could walk into the office of the lab manager, or the refinery manager and bypass my boss if I think there is something going on that is either unethical or illegal, or constitute harrassment or intimidation. I have never had to do it, but I know is there.

I know of a case where there was a two gallon spill because the operator taking the sample at one of the units accidentally droped the bottle -- he should have reported it, and did not --and the fellow almost got sacked. They reprimanded him, and that hurts promotion opportunities. The point is -- honesty, always, first and foremost, even if we look bad on the statistics.