Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
<Sorry, this "old dinosaur," (guilty as charged) happen to enjoy the high class that my wife displays in feminine intuition. I depend on her a lot, for as a man, I can think with only one side of my brain at a time, where you ladies can us both at the same time, according to people who study that sort of thing, and I rather think they are on target. OR.......... maybe I just happen to have the enjoyment/company of a super sharp woman.>

I apologize, Gene, for being snippy with you.

I am a scientist who trained in the early 1970s, when women (including me) were discouraged from entering science in many ways.

One of these ways was by men saying, condescendingly, that women have "intuition" while men were analytical. The adviser for my college science department was only one of the many men who tried to lay this counterproductive and false dichotomy on me. (I scored in the 99th percentile on the math SAT, the math National Merit Scholarship test and the math N.Y. State Regents scholarship exam, so nobody could tell me that I wasn't analytical.) Fortunately, I ignored him and all the others and became a professional chemist -- but I also became allergic to male stereotypes that said that women couldn't be analytical because they were intuitive.

Actually, intuition is the willingness of any person (male or female) to connect neural networks that recognize patterns, whether visual, social or sensory. It also requires the willingness to value the pattern that is recognized. Anyone who willfully cuts off an important source of information -- as misogynistic cultures train men to reject "feminine" intuition -- is cutting off their nose to spite their face.