Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 2
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to fixed income investments. Most of my investment/analysis experience has dealt with stocks. However, with the credit crisis raising havoc with yields and such in the corporate bond market, I've been attempting to sift through the various offerings in the exchange traded debt arena in hopes of finding attractive returns and at the same time reduced risk as compared to individual stock holdings. So, any and all comments and suggestions are welcome and appreciated.

My search has uncovered several opportunties which I hope to share in time. At present, my best idea is Markel (MKV), which I think offers an attractive yield and also safety of principal.

From QuantumOnLine:

Ticker Symbol: MKV CUSIP: 570535203 Exchange: NYSE
Security Type: Exchange-Traded Debt Security

SECURITY DESCRIPTION: Markel Corp. 7.50% Senior Debentures due 8/22/2046, issued in $25 denominations, redeemable at the issuer's option on or after 8/22/2011 at $25 per share plus accrued and unpaid interest, and maturing 8/22/2046. Distributions of 7.50% ($1.875) per annum are paid quarterly on 2/15, 5/15, 8/15 & 11/15 to holders of record on the business day prior to the payment date as long as the debentures remain in book-entry form. Units are expected to trade flat, which means accrued interest will be reflected in the trading price and the purchasers will not pay and the sellers will not receive any accrued and unpaid interest. The Notes are unsecured and unsubordinated obligations of the company and will rank equally with all existing and future unsecured and unsubordinated indebtedness of the company. See the IPO prospectus for further information on the debt securities by clicking on the ‘Link to IPO Prospectus’ provided below.

http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1096343/000...

Basic Data:

Annual  Current                             Call     Mature  Moodys/S&P