No. of Recommendations: 12
DH and I have been playing the balance transfer game with gusto for about 6 months now, and have been paying an average interest rate of about 1%. A few weeks ago I got an MBNA offer in the mail for "up to $100,000" at 0% through January 2003, and I called and completed the application. They asked how much I wanted, and just for the hell of it I told them $25,000.

Imagine my surprise when they called me today, asked a few perfunctory questions about my employment and the value of my home, and the 1.7% MBNA account I opened in October. I answered the questions and told them the MBNA account was balance-transferred to Discover just a few days ago, which is true. The guy then informed me that my applicaiton was approved and they would be transferring $25,500 ($500 more than I asked for!) into my checking account within the next week or two, at 0% through January 2003. Amazing!!!

That is a high enough credit line so that we will now have ALL of our debt at 0% through January, and if we get a little luck, it's possible we could have it all paid off by then, without spending another penny in interest!!!

I don't know how MBNA can afford to do these deals, but I'm sure happy about it!
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
I don't know how MBNA can afford to do these deals, but I'm sure happy about it!

Before I question you, let me understand. MBNA is loaning you $25,500 for about 6 months at 0%. Is that correct? They can afford to do it, because they don't expect you to pay it back on time. Simple as that. In January, the interest rate will go up, and then they've got you. That is the plan. Most people are caught by this. If you plan right, you won't be.

Shadbus
No. of Recommendations: 0
I agree that they expect you to be caught with your pants down.