The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Real Estate Investing

URL:  https://boards.fool.com/b06mjb-quotafter-i-closed-i-found-out-that-he-11854440.aspx

Subject:  Re: down side...cont. Date:  1/22/2000  6:58 PM
Author:  RicRogersRealtor Number:  25 of 14365

b06mjb:

"After I closed, I found out that he (the Seller of the Investment Property purchased by b06mjb) had filed an eviction notice on a third tenant and failed to mention this to me.....Two of the other tenants had left.......And at closing, I was expecting to get deposits and prorated rents from 4 rented units. My check was much smaller than expected. "

First of all, hey, great idea to start a Real Estate Investing board here in Fool Land!! I hope to contribute as time allows from time to time. As my name makes clear, I am a licensed real estate broker. In fact, I own my own independent brokerage firm (purposely not affiliated with any of the national franchises).

I've had the good fortune of meeting and getting directly involved with a major real estate investor over the past 2 years. Acting as a Buyer's Agent for my investor client, we have consummated over $10 million in real estate purchases since 1998. We've learned a great deal from each other and have since created a partnership arrangement.

Enough about my background..........Now, in response to your situation outlined above............