No. of Recommendations: 72
Mid month update. What I’ve done and why.

Well it’s the 18th of the month and I’m almost up 18% year-to-date (16.7%, actually). This does NOT mean that after 365 days I’ll be up close to 365%, I promise! 😀

I read all the positive opinions on Mongo which seemed very convincing, and all the negative opinions on Mongo, which also seemed very convincing, and decided, since I have zero technical knowledge to help me decide which is right, or if the truth is somewhere inbetween, that Mongo was just too much of a battleground stock for me, and I sold most of my position. There are much less controversial and complicated stocks for me to be in, and where I can sleep better at night. I may have been completely wrong but that’s what I did.

I also sold out of one of my three little biotechs, VCEL, feeling that it was the one which seemed to me to be in the smallest niche.

With the cash, I added the most to Nutanix (where I’ve gotten a lot more confidence back), also smaller amounts to Okta, Elastic, and less to Square (adding a tiny bit but still worried about the flakey CEO), and added tiny bits to the other two little biotechs, Guardant and Abiomed. I also took truly tiny positions in three little tech try-outs (Zuora, Anaplan, and DocuSign).

Best,

Saul
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 9
I wanted to revisit ZUO also. Something that happened at work actually around sending a client a quote and because it was a SaaS product our core system wasn't able to handle it.

Their CEO has a strong background but also had a really strange/odd CC the Q before last. I am willing to write it off that nerds don't have to have a strong grasp of what is socially smooth in a CC if they are smart and strong leaders in their core business.

The part I hesitate a bit on is their competition.
Chargify and Cloudbee...both are private so harder to gauge what is going on there.
https://www.vccircle.com/insight-venture-partners-leads-seri...