No. of Recommendations: 4
Cross posting from retired fools

The top five professions for millionaires

1) Engineer
2) Accountant
3) Teacher
4) Management
5) Attorney

and 62% of them attended a state college.

https://www.daveramsey.com/research/the-national-study-of-mi......

intercst
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
I am an engineer married to an engineer

We both attended public universities.

It took us 25 years to reach our first million.

So pretty spot on for me.
No. of Recommendations: 0
It’s kind hard to believe Doctors aren’t there in the top 5.
I would love to see how they collected their sample. I have a suspicion that there is selection bias. I would love to see a comparison from US Census Bureau data, but a quick search didn't turn up anything comparable.

ThyPeace, nerd.
No. of Recommendations: 2
Ah! A simple life.

Howie52

There is a degree of financial education - or the potential of such education -
in the professions. But as in another thread, the criteria of living within -
or below your means open the potential for any job to lead towards a
satisfying end.
No. of Recommendations: 4
I’m not as surprised as many of you are that doctors don’t appear on the list.

After all, doctors aren’t immune to the laws of compounding. Many of them don’t start making “doctor money” until they’re in their thirties, and even then, by that point they’ve often got well into six figures of debt to pay off before they can really start saving. By they time they dig themselves out of medical school and licensing debts, compounding says they need to sock away a couple thousand a month or more to wind up retired as millionaires.

So now you’re talking late forties, into their fifties or so, before even the more financially savvy of doctors have a legitimate chance of counting themselves among the millionaire ranks.