Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 5
Miriam....
I'm no expert either, plus I'm a "military transplant" to Colorado, with just under 2 years in this great state. But, my impression of Amendment 24 is this: It represents a groundswell of frustration at the grass roots level. This frustration is mainly about the perceived lack of growth controls imposed by the various levels of govt on the big development companies. It seems that many people feel the development companies are running amok, and sometimes local governments (mostly county level) are A) not doing anything to stop/control them and b) sometimes contributing to poor growth decisions -- sometimes thru indecision. I'll give you two examples from here in El Paso County:

1) Developers here are required to build roads into new subdivisions. They then post a "repair bond" with the city/county and this $$$ stays in a govt coffer for 1 year. If the roads are still servicable after a year, the devloper gets the $$$ back. Well, who couldn't build a road that will hold up for a year?? Heck, I could do that! Especially with the reduced traffic running thru a new subdivision (reduced compared to the traffic level 5 years later). Most roads shouldn't need to be repaved for 7-9 years, according to a civil engineer friend of mine. But the city/county finds that the roads need major work at the 3,4 or 5 year point. This 1 year bond doesn't seem to faze the big companies at all, and the city/county gets stuck with poor roads. This appears to be a combination of sloppy contractors -- doing "just enough to get by" -- and poor local government (how 'bout a 7 year bond??). A secondary issue can be pointed right at local govt here in the Springs: We have untold thousands of miles of new roads, but only 47 (!!!) city snow plows. The city govt seems to have forgotten they aren't a small cow town anymore.......time to get more plows!