Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I am new at this and looking to invest monthly in three DRIPs. I would like to do automatic investing after my initial investment...but my question is if there is a way to monthly send in $$$ to each of these DRIPS without an automatic investment setup....just in case each month I may want to send in more or less ( if the wife buys too many shoes!) than a fixed amount.

Any feedback on if this method may be too much a pain in the ....

Thanks
Print the post Back To Top
<<my question is if there is a way to monthly send in $$$ to
each of these DRIPS without an automatic investment setup>>

Yes, that's what I do. Almost all DRIPs offer Optional Cash Payments (OCPs), and you can write a check and mail it in. Or not.
<<I am new at this and looking to invest monthly in three DRIPs. I would like to do automatic investing after my initial investment...but my question is if there is a way to monthly send in $$$ to each of these DRIPS without an automatic investment setup....just in case each month I may want to send in more or less ( if the wife buys too many shoes!) than a fixed amount.>>

Hey, Ricster!

As yotommy said, you can invest in pretty much the way you want when it comes to DRiPs. I've yet not gotten involved in automatic contributions, though many people are very happy with them. Many companies that charge fees for OCP's will in fact offer you a discount to do it this way.

Still, I enjoy sending in my checks. Doing it this way allows me to skip a month if I choose, or send in whatever amount I'd like. It's really a simple process, as all you need to do is tear off the section of the statement, and put it into the envelope with your check.

If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to ask. If you haven't checked yet, there's a slew of Foolish info in our DRiP Port at http://www.fool.com/dripport/dripport.htm, and of course many of the basics can be found at http://www.moneypaper.com/.