Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 13
Dear y'all,

I'm not necessarily happier that the Fool decided to cut so many columns; however I think this would be worthwhile if Fool writers were to spend more time interacting with us. It may be that the Fool is in fact spending a lot of this time with things like seminars, but it seems that some boards there should be more Fool writers, there are not.

For example, I sometimes drop by the Rule Maker Strategy board, presumably a place the Fool writers should drop by since it is tied to one of the Fool portfolios. Well, the most recent posting by a TMFer was TMFSelena's post on 4/2/01. I don't believe Selena is involved with the management of the Rule Maker port; we need to go back a few more days to get several posts from TMFBuster. I'm actually not completely sure TMFBuster is involved here either (I thought he was mostly a Rule Breaker).

In any event, one of the discussions that has gone on there is the recent purchase of J&J. In the days of the Cash King portfolio writers were happy to discuss concerns etc. about portfolio purchases, yet no portfolio manager has done so. In particular, TMFTribe's Rule Maker analysis of J&J seems to indicate that it is in the "third tier":

http://fireboards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=14693877

Would it be possible for whoever runs the port to explain why a "third tier" Rule Maker is the next purchase? Is the numerical point system incomplete, did TMFTribe make mistakes in the checklist, or is it valuation issues, or something else entirely?

In summary, I hope that the various writers spend some more time interacting with us in the community. If this happens, I think that the decision to cut the number of columns was a good one.

Best,

Lleweilun Smith
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi! As a new researcher into the world of stocks, I've got a problem finding information that I need help with. I've read the Motley Fool and now I'm online, but I'd like to search (weed out or weed IN) companies whose data fall within certain parameters, by searching for companies making $50,000,000 or less, for example. I don't see anything like that on the site. I live in Tokyo, Japan, and I'm a Canadian, to boot, so I'm ineligible to apply for a lot of the services online or products are not available. (Eg. I'd LOVE to buy Investors' Business Daily, but you can't Get it here in Japan! Sigh....) Any advice or ideas, or IS THERE a way for me to better search out groups of companies online? -Bill, Ispy88@hotmail.com, Japan.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
Ispy,

welcome to the fool! A great company screener that I've found is at www.quicken.com. click on the tab at the top that says investing, then go to the link on the left that says Stock screener, then click on Full search. you don't have to register, AFAIK... I use it to keep an eye out for under-valued blue chips, but it has boxes for just about any criteria you can imagine...

Camille
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi Ispy88,

Any advice or ideas, or IS THERE a way for me to better search out groups of companies online?

When I start a stock screen I like to use the screener at www.hoovers.com. The following link is to a post with resources for international investors: http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=14734994

The following list is a compilation of favorite web resources from a group of TMF posters that are regular contributors. I don't know if all of the links are still current.:

America Invest - http://www.america-invest.com
Ask Research - http://www.askresearch.com
Bloomberg - http://www.bloomberg.com
Briefing.com - http://www.briefing.com/intro/i_stocks.htm
Business 2.0 - http://www.business2.com/
Business Week Online - http://www.businessweek.com
CBS MarketWatch - http://cbs.marketwatch.com
Clearstation - http://www.clearstation.com
CNBC - http://www.cnbc.com/
CNNfn - http://cnnfn.com/
Company Sleuth - http://www.company.sleuth.com/
DailyStocks.com - http://dailystocks.com/
EquityInsights - http://www.equityinsights.com/
Financial Web - http://www.financialweb.com
FinPortfolio - http://www.finportfolio.com/
Forbes - http://www.forbes.com
FORTUNE.com - http://www.fortune.com/
Fox Marketwire - http://www.foxmarketwire.com
Hoovers Online - http://www.hoovers.com
iexchange.com - http://www.iexchange.com/
Individual Investor - http://www.individualinvestor.com/
Insider Trading - http://www.insidertrader.com/
Internet Investor - http://www.internetinvestor.com
InternetNews - http://www.internetnews.com/
Investor Guide - http://www.investorguide.com/home.html
InvestorPackages.com - http://www.investorpackages.com/
Investor Web - http://www.investorweb.com
Investors Business Daily - http://www.investors.com/
Just Ventures, Inc. - http://justquotes.com/
Morningstar - http://www.morningstar.com
MSN Investor - http://moneycentral.msn.com/investor/home.asp
Nightly Business Report - http://www.nightlybusiness.org
PC Quote - http://www.pcquote.com
Quote.com (Lycos) - http://www.quote.com/quotecom/
Quicken.com - http://www.quicken.com/
Raging Bull - http://www.ragingbull.com
RedHerring - http://www.redherring.com/
Reuters Moneynet - http://www.moneynet.com
S&P Personal Wealth - http://www.personalwealth.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/SNP
Silicon Investor - http://www.siliconinvestor.com/index.gsp
SmartMoney - http://www.smartmoney.com/
Stock Market Investing - http://www.stock-market-investing.com/
Stock Master - http://www.stockmaster.com/
The Lion - http://www.thelion.com/
The OnLine Investor - http://www.theonlineinvestor.com/
The Standard - http://www.thestandard.com/
Thomson Investor - http://www.thomsoninvest.net/index.sht
USA Today - http://www.usatoday.com/money/mfront.htm
Wall Street City - http://www.wallstreetcity.com
Wall Street Research Net - http://www.wsrn.com
Yahoo! Finance - http://finance.yahoo.com
Zakcs.com - http://my.zacks.com/?ALERT=www.zacks.com
ZDNet Interactive Investor - http://www.zdii.com/fp.asp

Print the post Back To Top