Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 40
Hey everyone,

(Warning -- LONG post ahead. I will not be insulted if you skip this as a waste of time. I'm posting this as much for myself -- as a reflection of where I have been, where I am, and where I am going -- as I am for anyone else. Hopefully some of you will find some value in this.

I spent a while trying to figure out where to post my 5000th post at the Fool. (Actually, this is probably my 5002nd post as I think I have had 2 posts pulled over the years, but my profile says this is #5000, so...)

I decided to do it here because of all the support I received when I posted about my thoughts on changing careers. This will be pretty free-form, but I figure I will just let go for a few minutes about my time at the Fool and stuff in general.

Where I Have Been

As many of you know, I have a PhD in Chemical Engineering. I completed this almost 7 years ago and have been working for over 6 years at my current job. Probably none of you know this, but we build training simulators for chemical plants and other industries. (Think of them like flight simulators, but for operating the pumps, valves, etc. of a chemical plant.)

I have loved the challenge of this job and the amazing things I get to see and experience. I have traveled to Chile, many places in Canada, Peru, Austria, eastern Germany, India, and various other places. I have met royalty (the King of the area in India I visited); seen some beautiful places that most of you will, unfortunately, never visit; tried unique foods and drinks; spent hours partying in the Christmas markets of Graz and Vienna. So much of this has been incredible.