Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 8
I've been reading through a few of the messages here and thought that it might be helpful to someone if I shared my story. Sharing this story is also therapeutic for me as outside of my father and one friend, I've not shared it and even with the friend, I did not share all of the details.

The reason for my reticence has a lot to do with the normal sort of embarrassment anyone feels in declaring bankruptcy and going through a foreclosure. In my case, it was doubly embarrassing as I am a self employed financial professional and am fairly well known in my local community. I advise people how to avoid this sort of thing and was in the unfortunate situation of being unable to avoid this myself.

My main error was failing to live below my means and failing to plan properly. This left little room when financial exigencies hit. Budgeting and planning are particularly important when one is self employed. The cash flow in any business will ebb and flow at times and having a relatively low amount of fixed commitments allows one to weather the storm in those periods of reduced cash flow. My business is seasonal with heavy cash flow during the first six months of the year and severely reduced cash flow during the summer and during the last quarter of the year. Because my fixed commitments were too high relative to my income, I was unable to save enough cash to tide me over until the next busy season, so I'd routinely obtain advances from several credit cards I had to cover expenses. At one point I was able to obtain a second mortgage to consolidate the credit cards. This just turned out to be a stop-gap measure as I was soon back to using them.