Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
My wife has been doing some contract work part time and has filled out a W9 form with the employer. She gets paid by check and no taxes are being withheld.

I know we are supposed to be paying estimated taxes (quarterly, I guess) and was just wondering what the process was for doing this? And the deadlines? I have no experience with this form of employment.

Assuming that she started this work in 2007, your first estimated tax payment is due April 17. You use Form 1040-ES (make sure you get the 2007 version) to make these payments. Details about estimated tax and the alternatives to it are in IRS Publication 505.

Also, does this give us the ability to claim work-related expenses as tax deductions?

Yes. She'll report her income and deductible expenses on Schedule C of the 1040. IRS Publication 334 is a good starting point. It's a big pub, so I'd suggest getting a hard copy, although you can download it.

Also of interest is Pub 560, which describes retirement savings options available to the self-employed.

Phil
Print the post  

Announcements

Disclaimer:
In accordance with IRS Circular 230, you cannot use the contents of any post on The Motley Fool's message boards to avoid tax-related penalties under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.
What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?