Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi folks, I've enjoyed catching up on this board over the last few days. Thanks for all the sharing of knowledge. I've learned a lot.

I'm in the process of getting my business off the ground. I'm an artist/craftsperson/artisan and having done a few commissioned projects for friends and acquaintances I'm getting ready to sell to the wider public, mainly via a web site and via vending at least one large music/arts festival (starting next year on the festival).

So I have my NY state tax ID# and my domain name set up and have marked my calendar for filing SE tax and sales tax returns and am learning ever more about this side of things.

Here's my problem. I think that I'd like to open a separate personal checking account to use for my business. I'm a small potatoes sole proprietor and I think technically I don't even need to have a separate account, so why should I have to have a business account with its related fees? (Please correct me if my thinking is wrong here.)

Thing is, my legal name is my married name, and professionally I am known by (and want to continue to be known by) my "maiden" name. My Certificate of Authority to Collect Sales Tax has my married name and also the name I've chosen for my business on it. I just renewed my driver's license and that also now has my married name on it. Will I have a problem using my "maiden" name (let's call it my professional name)?