Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I am new to investing and have $ 1000 to begin with. Are there any suggestions on how I should begin ?
Should i spread it out over a number of stocks buying only a couple shares of each ?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
$1000 is really too small an amount to use to buy a variety of individual stocks. The commissions would kill you.

I'd suggest a mutual fund or an ETF (especially the latter). Schwab is a good place to buy these. (Vanguard used to be the best place, but most of their mutual funds have a minimum of $3000. And Schwab as amazingly low expense ratios -- and low expense ratios are, I think, the number one thing that matters in buying funds).

culcha
I have the cash in a vanguard acct. What types of ETF do u suggest ?
I would suggest the Vanguard ETF VTI Total Stock Market.
Another suggestion would be a Target Retirement fund. I believe these have a $1000 minimum.
The VTI ETF at Vanguard, as was suggested, is an excellent choice. You'd get broad market exposure (and thus, instant diversification) right from the get-go.

We recently had 6 days in a row when the market went down, followed by one day when it went up. An early lesson for beginner investors to learn is that you have to be in the market for a long time. You may experience losses for a few days in a row -- but probably not for a few years in row. An investment is not something that you can expect will pay off in a few days. But in will definitely pay off in the long run.

Good luck!

culcha
"You may experience losses for a few days in a row -- but probably not for a few years in row."

culcha,

Why are you giving a new investor such bad advice?

The DJIA is an imperfect proxy for the equities markets. But it's good enough. There have been decades --not merely years-- prices when down, e.g., Jan '66 to Jul '82.