Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm the director of a small non-profit, and we're about to set up our first-ever retirement plan for our handful of employees. It will be a 403(b), the nonprofit version of a 401(k). We will probably work with TIAA-CREF, since several of our staff already have accounts there, either pensions from previous jobs or IRAs.

My dilemma is this: I want to ensure the maximum benefit for employees (and I'm one of them), but I have to "sell" this to my Board, who are very nervous about being committed to an expenditure that they've avoided until now.

So, do I recommend a set amount paid by the organizatin to each employee per year - either a flat sum, or a percentage of salary? Or, do I recommend that the Board match employee contributions - up to a certain dollar amount, or a percentage of salary? or some combination of the two? And what percentages are commonly used?

I have little personal experience with this kind of account to draw on. What is commonly done, and what are the advantages/disadvantages to employee and to the organization?

Thanks for any help you can give. I'm new to this Board, but not to the Fool.

alix

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
If you get some statistics about other programs, it might make them feel better. They could see how others are handling it and decide if that makes it more palatable.

Matching 50% of the first 10% is common. It is not so much, but it can grow for an employee quite nicely. There are other variations on the percentage. This does have a disadvantage of paying higher amounts with higher salaries.