Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Disability forced retirement, and I converted my union individual account into an IRA at Fidelity. So far my six week term has resulted in a 5% return. I consider this okay even taking into account that I was 20% into bond funds that showed zero return for the period. I've switched two of them to equity funds.

My question is how do I compare returns or which index is best for comparison in general? I'm just getting started, so there will be many more postings to come. Suggestions and critical comments welcome.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
There are various indices. One way to invest is to pick the index which is doing best and to buy funds that beat or equal that index.

Look at SPY, QQQQ, DIA (dog), IWM, IWN, IWO, and there is a mid-cap ETF somewhere also.

Look at a list I published earlier. Some are specialty funds, but they have all done fairly well recently.

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=23306083

I use Fasttrack for mutual funds and stocks. Nightly downloads and data:

www.fasttrack.net.

Also technical analysis tools.
Read a few books, they are much better than anything on any web site.

Books:

coffeehouse investor
common sense on mutual funds
four pillars of investing
random walk down wall street.
Greetings,

My question is how do I compare returns or which index is best for comparison in general?

The key here is to recognize that there are various levels of how you could split up the investable universe:

1) Simple way -> There are US bonds, US stocks and foreign stocks and each has an index that covers everything. This is about as simple as you could get.

n) Complex way -> Here are the subcategories to each of the 3 above:
Bonds: US or foreign; short, intermediate or long term; Treasury, Federal, Corporate, or Municipal; convertible or not; inflation-indexed or not.