No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm new to investing and have been learning quite a bit on this website. Right now, I am trying to start planning for my retirement (I'm 30 years old, I'm starting a LITTLE LATE). So, with that in mind, I'm trying to maximize my returns where I can.

I have not, as of yet, participated in a 401K. My employer will do a 2.5% match, but no more. Should I participate in my 401K? Or would I have better returns investing my money directly into the stock market? I've read that Index Funds are the best type, but will they yield more than directly investing myself?

Please help, I've already wasted enough time and I don't want to make a huge mistake now!

Thank you to all the knowledgeable Fools out there!
Print the post Back To Top
I have not, as of yet, participated in a 401K. My employer will do a 2.5% match, but no more. Should I participate in my 401K?

Yes, you should absolutely participate in your 401K. It's very hard to beat the 100% return you get from the first 2.5% of your income that is matched. As to whether you should invest more, it depends on the 401K. My employer offers really crappy mutual funds with pretty high fees. I invest what it takes to get the match, and all of that goes into a bond fund, but no more. In general, it is best to have bonds and REITs in a tax protected account since they are income earning.

Volucris
joym25...

I am getting lazy in my old age, so I'm going to direct you to a post I made a couple of days ago on the "Investing Beginners" Board instead of essentially re-writing it:

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=21906747

I think that what I wrote in this post may answer several of your questions.

Regards,
Bill