No. of Recommendations: 0
We are presently in a non-ira annutiy fund, American Skandia. The planner who suggested and got us invovled in the fund has us using a "money management" firm that moves the monies between the 30+ mutual funds that comprise AmSkandia. The money manager is extracting a 1.65% fee for their service. This is in addition to the annutiy fee and the individual mutual fund fees. We have been involved for 3 1/2 years and have seen a return of 133% during that time. In discussing with financial people, however, the general feeling is that we are crazy to be paying a 1.65% fee for someone to move around money between funds that are already professionaly managed. One source went as far to say that it appeared to be "gouging" and borderline illegal. The alternative would be to asset allocate and adjust on a as needed, quarterly or annual basis. Presently, the money management firm is moving the monies on a weekly, sometimes daily basis. Comments are welcome..I am a novice and would appreciate opinions! Thank you!
Print the post Back To Top
If the manager is getting you a return better than you could get for yourself, he may be earning his fee.
You might try taking a part of the money and asset-allocate it yourself. After a few months see which would do better. Or you could see what asset allocation you would use and back-test it.
Mutual fund companies hate people that move in and out like that. It drives their buying and selling plans nuts.
You should have no loads, so the trading in and out should be free from your point of view.
Good luck! Chris
We are presently in a non-ira annutiy fund, American Skandia. The planner who suggested and got us invovled in the
fund has us using a "money management" firm that moves the monies between the 30+ mutual funds that comprise
AmSkandia. The money manager is extracting a 1.65% fee for their service. This is in addition to the annutiy fee and