Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
OK Guys thanks for the input. i must agree with JAFO on one point. I know Im just a newbie but it seems to me that having a Broker handle my clauses is a little like walking a tight rope without a net. I would much prefer paying a lawyer who at least has a true binding agreement with me than a Broker who might still be just out for his own profit.

I do feel somewhat better having heard that some of you guys actually make offers without actually seeing the property in question. I guess I will just have my lawyer sit with me and input all the valid clauses that i need.

As for the money for repairs, what I figured was this. I am getting preapproved by one lender and looking to get this process done with another as we speak. Both are working the numbers to include the 203K loan of $20K. I got the first lender to give me some figures he came in at $1686 a month for the mortgage. Now Im trying to get him to put his preapproval in writing and have my lawyer look it over, who knows what kind of snake might be lurking around the desk...lol. But I figure if all else fails Ill just have an escape clause in my offer stating that if finance is not applicable I walk from the deal. Can I do this??? have any of you actually done this.

Ohh and now that Im beginning to understand this 203K better, I msut say what a Country..lol. I mean assuming the repairs on a deal of this nature comes in under sayyy 10 or 15K, I could theoretically walk from this deal with enough cash to finance another deal the next day, God I love this business :)

As for the inspection are there certified inspectors and what about liabilities. How do you know the inspector knows what hes talking about. I was told that the Bank would be the one to choose the 203K inspector seems like I might have no control over this.

Well I must be running now, I will give an update as soon as I can get in touch with more info.