Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Ok I read ONE reply to this and I am by no means an expert, but this is what I have as an understanding...

You can BUY a CALL or a PUT, but you can also SELL(write) a CALL or a PUT.
A CALL is an option to purchase shares at the strike price. A PUT is an option to sell shares at the strike price.

Most individual or novice investors would not take the worries of SELLING or writing Stock Options, which is what you are doing in your post with "...sell a put option.." However, BUYING stock options CAN give great gains with LIMITED risk by leveraging small amounts of money to buy the options.

If you BUY a CALL option w/ a strike price of 10 for 1/4 when the stock is at say $5/share then you are hoping that before the option expires the price will go UP and even better surpass your strike price. Most options are for 100 shares of the underlying stock so the actual money needed to buy that option was $25.00.
Should the stock price meet your strike price of 10 the option could be sold for say 5 (5 x 100 =$500). You will want to use ACTUAL stock option prices as I do not know mathmatically how they rise and fall with the stock, but once the stock price is in your favor and passes your strike price (IN THE MONEY as compared to OUT OF THE MONEY) the price of the stock is usually in direct sync with the profit you WOULD have had IF you shelled out $500.00 to begin with and bought 100 shares of that $5 stock. So for leveraging money you can make a profit of $500 by having $500 (Buy Stock) OR get $475 profit by using only $25.00(Buy an Option).