Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 8
This seemed to be a point in the previous thread's discussion to begin a new thread. I hesitate to get into this debate, but I have some experience at being diabetic and eating a low carb diet that MAY prove useful. Or I hope it will.

I was diagnosed as having Type II almost seven years agol My PCP and I have discussed and taken different approaches at different times. I was also put on oral medication at the time of diagnosis.

When I was diagnosed, I went to the Diabetic informational counseling that was then available. I have always had a been interested in nutrition and done a lot of reading, but do not claim to be exceedingly knowledgeable.

The RN and RD who ran the program were very kind and caring. They explained to me that I needed to eat a low fat diet that had 50% of my calories from carbs and that my PCP may have to increase the amount of medication to control my blood sugar levels. This sounded a tad odd to me, but since they were the experts, I was determined to follow it. We had just become parents and I wanted to be healthy and not die early.

I tried this for about three years. During that time, I gained weight, was ALWAYS hungry and controlling my blood sugars required that I take two oral medications and eventually insulin. I was walking everyday also, but never more than a mile. I just did not have the energy. Because I was not having success, my PCP referred me back to the Diabetes Education folks. They told me I was not following my diet. I told them I absolutely was. They insisted I was not, and that if I was, I should have my PCP increase my meds and insulin.

About that time a co-worker gave me Protein Power by the Drs. Eades. She was also living with diabetes and said this had helped her. I showed it to my PCP and he suggested I give it a go.