Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Are any of these Options Workshops useful? I am new to Options Trading. Larry McMillan is offering a 2-day Options Workshop near my hometown. Anyone attended that in the past? Is it useful for beginners? Any other workshops, books, courses that might be useful? Thanks.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1

Doesn't Wade Cook do some options workshops? :)

No. of Recommendations: 4
vpotluri,

I do not believe most commercial options workshops are worth the price they charge, although I am certainly not familiar with any be Larry McMillan.

I strongly urge you to make sure you have a good basic knowledge of options before you spend a significant amount on a workshop. I believe the best way to get that knowledge is through reading one or more books. To avoid the "bad" books about options, I recommend you initially limit your choice of books to those listed in the bibliography at

http://www.cboe.com/education/biblio.htm

Once you have some basic knowledge you will be in a much better position to evaluate any seminar you are considering. My recommendations are:

(1) If the seminar promises to make you rich, forget about it.

(2) If the seminar promises risk-free earnings, forget about it.

(3) If the seminar costs over $1,000, forget about it.

There really are not any "secret strategies" for trading options for a profit. The basic elements and strategies of option trading are well publicized.

If, after you understand most of the basics, you want to pay to attend a seminar, at least you will be making an informed choice.

Good Luck,
Z
If you want the best workshop available buy
"Option Volatility and Pricing" by Natenberg.
Take some time to digest every detail in this book.
Hampton
No. of Recommendations: 3
<If you want the best workshop available buy
"Option Volatility and Pricing" by Natenberg.
Take some time to digest every detail in this book.
Hampton>

Aha! Another Natenberg convert?