Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Questions:

1) Is there a way to test or calibrate my oven temperature?
2) I'm almost 3000 ft above sea level. I know that for boiling water that makes a difference. May I assume that for ovens that will also make a difference?
2a) If so, should I cook longer or cook hotter?

Reason:
I've noticed that every time I cook anything, it isn't done when the recipe says it should be. Being a very novice cook, I find this extremely frustrating AND I'm too ignorant to know how to adjust properly. If someone could give me a rule of thumb, please?

CrestlineKathy - you probably would know for sure if altitude is affecting me.

TIA,
Frydaze1
Print the post Back To Top
RE: Fryd: "I'm almost 3000 ft above sea level. I know that for boiling water that makes a difference. May I assume that for ovens that will also make a difference?"

It doesn't make as much difference in the oven. For leavened items it can alter rising action which can be adjusted with either ingredient amounts or temperature. Here's a good site:

http://www.baking911.com/howto_high_altitudes.htm

SB (do you have a GOOD oven thermometer?)

http://www.baking911.com/howto_high_altitudes.htm

SB (do you have a GOOD oven thermometer?)

Thanks!

It says:
"Oven temperature - Increase 15 to 25°F, except when baking chocolate or delicate cakes, which might burn.

Baking time - Decrease the amount of time your recipe bakes. Reason - Higher oven temperature. "

Frydaze1(I don't even have a BAD oven thermometer.)
RE: Fryd: (I don't even have a BAD oven thermometer.)

Get one! You'll be amazed how far off your oven might be. Check at different settings too. My oven's thermostat is accurate up to about 375, but if I want 450 I have to set it at about 412!

SB (might as well get a GOOD one too)