No. of Recommendations: 1
I work for a company that may go bankrupt in the foreseeable future. I am eligible for "early retirement" immediately and, although presently working full-time, may find myself out of this job soon. I realize that my pension is guaranteed by PBGC. My question is, if you have to go to PBGC to get your pension money, are you penalized in any way (I heard rumors that you get pennies on the dollar)? Also, is it worthwhile to retire immediatley before we go into bankruptcy and thus get your total pension from PBGC if you are already receiving it when bankruptcy occurs. Thanks for any assistance!
Print the post Back To Top
A pensions lawyer has been in here a few times trolling for clients; you might be able to find his website with a web search.

http://www.google.com/search?q=pension+recovery

Note: I am not a lawyer, I am not working for him, I am not a client of his; I have no idea whether he is ethical, I have no idea whether he is competent.

Have you asked the PBGC itself? According to their website at www.pbgc.gov, most workers will get their full pension, but the maximum payout is limited by law. If you were the CEO, you probably won't get your full pension from PBGC; if you were the janitor you'll probably get the whole thing.

Under federal pension law, the maximum pension guaranteed for workers in plans that terminate in 2002 is $3,579.55 a month (or $42,954.60 a year) for persons retiring at age 65. Maximum guarantees are adjusted for those who retire at ages younger or older than 65 or those who elect survivor benefits.
No. of Recommendations: 0