Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
plecoguy:
You've certainly peaked my curiosity, cmonkey. How does conversion work, i.e., how do you proceed and is it different for Orthodox, Conservative, Reform? I guess it must be. I know that Jews don't proseletyze, so would you share a little about why you'd want to convert? How long does it take? Where are you in the process now?

Hmm. Well, I'm studying at a Conservative shul, which basically involves going to the class (18 weeks, two hours a week), going to services (I usually go Friday night, sometimes Saturday), and going to mikvah for the actual conversion. There's a beit din, of course, who all ask you a few questions about why you're converting, asking you a few (I don't know, maybe ligurgical?) questions about the faith, etc. Aaaand there's a paper you have to write, five pages for rabbi Ginsberg, 3 for his wife, rabbi Gordon. Guess who I'll be writing for?

I'm in my second round of classes; I had to drop out last time because I went into a pretty heavy depression, but I'm back in full form and we're in the middle of the class now. I think the last session is at the end of March.

No, there is no proselytizing, although there was, long ago before Christianity became the official religion of Rome (see? class pays off already!) There *are* some Orthodox groups who drive around in Mitzvah tanks on college campuses and exhort Jews to be more observant, but they're only yelling at folk who are already members of the tribe.

I don't mean to be intrusive, but I am curious.
Hey, I wouldn't have posted if I had a problem talking about it, so don't apologize.