Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
Posted to the board, and emailed. Post replies (if any) to the board.

Hi guys

I am a totally novice investor. I want to set up the 401 account with my company, since they are matching 6% of my pay. My mind went to totally blank when I saw these many choices my company offers in the 401 account. Can any of you be kindly enough to take a look and give me some suggestions which ones I should choose and how much to allocate? I really appreciate your help!

Hello,

Lots of suggestions, don't know where to start. One practical matter is that when you want to post tabular data to this board -- which seems to have been what you started out with -- you should use the option at the bottom of the message entry screen that says

"Table Data (fixed-width font, enter your own line breaks)"

That way, your columns would stay aligned and be more readable to others. Right now, they all run together in proportional spaced fonts.

After that, your most immediate need is to understand all those fund categories that your list included; to learn how to judge the quality of the funds included therein; and to decide what kind of portfolio balance suits you personally, and meets your financial needs.

One doesn't need to devote a lifetime to it, but one DOES need to take the task seriously. That's why it's very dangerous to take the advice that one of us might give you, without having any idea whether we have any clue what we are talking about. Or, for that matter, whether we are trying to help you reach YOUR goals, or instead, preaching to you and trying to sell you on our OWN personal tastes in investment styles.