No. of Recommendations: 0
I am using the Quantumonline web site to find some preferred stocks to invest in. I've gone to the section listing investment grade prfds that are eligible for the 15% tax rate.

This is my first time doing this. Anyone have any tips on what not to do, and what to do. Obviously trying to find high yield and high credit rating makes sense.

But what other parameters should one use to make a selection. There are a few hundred stocks listed there, and I need to have some sort of screening process. And, of course when the yield is high, they are ususally trading at a premium, reducing the yield. But, that's life. Anyone have any favorites they would recommend.

Thanks is advance.
Henry
Print the post Back To Top
Henry,

If you do not mind answering...

And, of course when the yield is high, they are ususally trading at a premium, reducing the yield. But, that's life.

What seems to be the par yield (the rate at which people expect to pay no premium or to receive a discount on the price)? Just curious what a high yield is these days that is the market yield.

John

PS. I do not buy preferreds so I do not see the market data to answer my own question.
<<What seems to be the par yield>> ...6 1/2 to 9% roughly, depending on the issuers credit rating
Thanks for the fast reply on the par yields.

John
Henry, lets make sure you understand. When missash mentions the premium s/he means the selling price over par value or more particularly over the call price.

With preferred issues you especially want to know what the call terms are. If you pay more than call price, you risk having the stock called from under you at a loss, sometimes before you have collected a single dividend.

So first and foremost, watch those call prices. Many are callable at $25; some at $10. Issued priced just over $25 often are paying high yield because of buyers reluctance to pay a ridiculously high premium. Hence, call price inflates the apparent yield for a while.