Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
Private equity is the place to be, that's why all of these pathetic MBA programs now have growing "Private Equity" clubs. For the record I have my MBA (CFA as well) and only did it because I knew the game, I barely went to class and had a great two years of fun, met my fiance there, and have some other great friends. I didn't "learn" anything and I'm sure most people in MBA programs don't if they already had a basic business/finance background.

Hi Dizzy99,

You sound pretty bitter about the entire system (your post sounds a lot like a previous one http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=25176944). I haven't been through the machine like you have so maybe I am a bit naive, but I still believe we largely have a meritocratic system in higher ed. Yes, legacy admits do get in (George Bush went to Yale undergrad and has an MBA from HBS for God's sake) but that represents only a fraction of the admits. I know there is a game to be played. I know that there are feeder schools to post-undergrad IB jobs that are feeders into specific business schools (like Harvard), but I have every reason to believe that if you are an outstanding person, you will get what's rightfully yours. It is harder than it should be because of the legacy admits and the children of bankers who have had their career progression mapped out since they were fighting to get into the best pre-schools, but that isn't everyone. I spent two years on my own going through community college. Today I am looking at Dartmouth and Yale as target schools (based on talks I've had with a lot of qualified people inside the machine) and I don't have rich parents and went to a public high school. I am applying to almost every first-tier school, and from the discussions I've had with prior b-school adcom staff I have a pretty good shot at most of them.