No. of Recommendations: 48
Pro Closing;

I need to get some of this off my chest and then move on. What MF has done is disappointing. But it goes beyond disappointment; this has had a real financial and emotional impact on many of us. MF, as a professional organization, has handled this wrong and should have done better.

My Pro journey began five or so years ago (I’ve been with MF much longer) when I was first moving towards an early retirement. Investment decisions mattered to my retirement plan of course. I was deciding whether to leave money with investment vehicles offered through my employer or take another path. Those vehicles offered a range of investments types etc. at very low fees. But, I was interested in having a more active role.

As I studied it, Pro was looking like a service that would help me so I took a subscription to try it out. Early on I could see that Pro was dependent on Jeff, although there were certainly smart people around him. An obvious question was what about Jeff’s future plans and what about succession planning if/when he left. I posed the question on one of the chats that took place and received assurance from Jeff. I don’t recall the exact answers but they satisfied me to make the switch. I committed a big part of my portfolio to Pro. As that decision had looked so smart, I more recently increased my commitment to the Pro part of my investments. I closed out other accounts and was deploying more when trouble surfaced. Signs showed up including poor communication and explanation of price increases, one year only subscriptions, lack of attention on the Pro boards by MF staff, etc. It was clear something was going on, but I underestimated the likelihood of shuttering so went ahead with some of the best buys now, etc. That was a bad choice on my part as I’ve now got even more to unwind and reconsider for future investment.