Skip to main content


Matthew Frankel, CFP

General Information

Matthew Frankel, CFP
Fool Since:
October 13 2012
TMFKWMatt82 (8/14/2015), KWMatt82 (1/28/2014)
Where I Live:
Columbia, SC
Where I Grew Up:
Marlton, NJ

Investing Basics

Investing Experience:
Risk Tolerance:
Medium High
Investing Style:
Motley (i.e. Anything goes!)
Portfolio Size:
Large (12 or more Stocks)
Types of Investments:
stocks, options
Stocks I Own:
O, T, FDX, BAC, BRK-B, AXP, HHC, DLR, PEAK, AAPL, GM, PSA, MET, IRM, SQ, SKT, ACC, BOMN, MKL, ESRT, FPI, APPN, GE, MMYT, TEVA, GDOT, SRG, RHP, GS, EPR, OXY, STOR, DIS, SPG, PINS, USB, ZUO, WD, DDOG, LMND, AMWL, MELI, IPOD, IPOE, IPOF, WFC, BAND, YSAC, PSTH, SVAC, OUT, TSIA, VGAC, TSIBU, SPGS.U, Short Sep 2022 $155 calls on SQ, Short Jan 2022 $830 calls on TSLA, Long Jan 2022 $880 calls on TSLA, Short May 2021 $330 calls on APPN

Investing Favorites

Any stock that is the right price at the right time
Financials, Materials
Forbes, Money

Investing Expertise

My Area of Expertise:
Real estate, banking, personal finance, options strategies
Greatest Investment:
Square for $11 in 2016
Worst Investment:
First Solar at $210
Money I Manage:
I manage money for several other investors, and this involves buying and selling stocks in their accounts.

Education And Work Information

School(s) Attended
University of South Carolina (B.S.) Nova Southeastern University (M.S.) Florida State University (Graduate Certificate in Financial Planning)
Job Title
Investment Planning Specialist
Company / Organization
The Motley Fool
Former Jobs
Math professor

An Interview with TMFMathGuy

Last updated: 10/14/2014
The Fool:
What industry do you follow most closely and why?
Banking. Not only because it's my job, but it really does represent some of the best values in the market right now.
The Fool:
What's your greatest athletic achievement? Little League champ? Ran a marathon? Did 4 consecutive sit-ups?
I was a wrestler in high school....
The Fool:
How'd you find out about the Fool? (Make your answer as colorful and truthful as possible.)
When I was about 15 years old, my grandfather had a book by David and Tom Gardner on his shelf. I started reading it and was hooked instantly.
[Read the full Interview]

My Story

I grew up in a small New Jersey suburb and left to go to school in South Carolina where I got a physics degree. After college I moved to the sunny Florida Keys where I stayed and taught high school math and science for 5 years. Recently, my wife and I moved back to South Carolina where I am now a full-time writer and part-time mathematics professor, and I'm loving every minute of it.

The Motley Fool respects your privacy and strive to be transparent about our data collection practices. We use your information to customize the site for you, to contact you about your membership, provide you with promotional information, and in aggregate to help us better understand how the service is used. For more details, please review our Privacy Policy.