Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 6
I've just been promoted to supervisor of my group. After years of trying to avoid applying for the position, I was convinced by the acting supervisor apply for it and I got it. Now that I'm a manager, I get to do all the fun stuff like manage people and go to a bunch of meetings. Whee!!!!!

PSU
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 0
Congratulations!
Thanks!

I'm wondering if congratulations is the right word.
No. of Recommendations: 1
I'm wondering if congratulations is the right word.

Yeah, I wondered about that.

I can remember running for elected office, and winning. People were congratulating me, but I kept wondering if I condolences would have been better :-)
People were congratulating me, but I kept wondering if I condolences would have been better :-)

"Congratulations, and I'm sorry."

PSU what made you decide to take the promotion *now*? Money, inertia, hit your head too many times, ....?

impolite
PSU what made you decide to take the promotion *now*? Money, inertia, hit your head too many times, ....?

Yeah, probably the hit on my head. I wasn't wearing my helmet at the time.

It was a combination of things. Money was a factor. I have 4 years until I retire. I have a pension that is based on my 4 highest years of income. It just matched up time-wise. It doesn't hurt that my raise is 24%.