Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Howdy,

I am new to the idea of DRiP investing and have questions regarding the plan of attack. Should I use a discount broker, Moneypaper, or any of the other available services to begin? Or, to save some money and eventually realize a larger gain, should I buy direct from the company offering the DRiP? Please let me know some pros and cons of both methods.
Print the post Back To Top
If you look through the archives you'll read all of the pros/cons concerning discount broker/MoneyPaper. Distilled, it is: Discount Broker - cheaper/more frustrating to deal with, MoneyPaper - more expensive/you can speak with a real person.

If you are just getting started, I would recommend MoneyPaper, as they will hold your hand and show you how it works, and you will receive their guide (valuable information). When you see how easy it is you may decide to save the money. Your call.

george
AR1374,
welcome to the DRIP boards!  The question you asked is probably the one that has had the most time devoted to it.  Chances are that you are going to get a flood of responses, so let me be one of the first in the impending tidal wave.  The answer really depends on you!  Many people (including myself as well as the official Fool DRIP Port) utilize the services of the Moneypaper.  The whole process is very simple.  
1.  You join their organization (you even get a discount because you are a Fool).
2.  Select the company you wish to own, follow the process (which includes sending them the cost of the stock based on a recent high + a 10% cushion, and a $15 commission).
3.  Wait for a confirmation from Temper of the Times (the people that do the actual transacting).
4.  And then you will hear from the company directly or through their Transfer Agent.  They will even send you a self-addressed envelope for Optional Cash Purchases (OCPs).