Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
my dad passed away about a year ago...i bought the house from the estate at appraised value...i immediately sold the house to my son for the exact same price i bought it from the estate...i am the banker and he has a 30 year mortgage on it payable to me on monthly installments...the interest rate was the prevailing rate for our local banks...
i am going to have interest income to pay taxes on...can i avoid the taxes on the interest by gifting him the interest money on a yearly basis...it will be well below the $14,000.00 limit on gifting?

thanks in advance
Print the post Back To Top
I'm not a tax expert, so I'll be curious to see whether my gut reaction of "No, not if you actually charged interest, and he actually paid it and plans to deduct it" is correct. I would think that there would be a mechanism to deal with the current year -- i.e. you could refund what you had charged him so that by the end of the year the interest charged for 2016 would be zero.

But anticipating others' questions, I'm curious about why you charge interest at all if you plan to gift it back? Is it purely so that your son can take the deduction? I suspect that this falls into having your cake and eating it too -- he can't take the deduction if you're not claiming the income.

Curious to see what others say, but a bit of elaboration on that might complete the picture.
No. of Recommendations: 1
I'm no tax authority, but I would say that your "gift" would be just that, a separate transaction, meaning...

a. your son can deduct the loan interest paid to you.
b. the interest paid to you is interest income, reportable and taxable
c. your gift to your son is a separate transaction, and as it is within the gifting limits, it has no tax consequence. However does not relieve you of the tax due on the interest you received.

Gifting your son has no impact on the tax you owe, or that he might deduct.