No. of Recommendations: 0
i have century link for my internet provider and tested my speed.

been having issues with it actually working from time to time.

i shut everything off and my fastest download speed was 5.66mps.

my fastest upload was .068mps...is there anything i can do short

of changing internet providers? i am a novice at this and suggestions are

helpful.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 6
i have century link for my internet provider

~~~

...then you have DSL/twisted pair. DSL is distance dependant. It depends on how far from the CO (Central Office) you are as to the speed that is available to you. It's actually tech that had its start in the early 70's. Here's a WIKI read: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_subscriber_line

I'd suggest you see what type of speed you're paying for and then compare that to what speed tests tell you. Also, what site did you use for your speed test? Care to share???

Check this site and tell us what you're getting: http://beta.speedtest.net/ (don't click on anything but the GO button, on this page.)

I have comcast... have a ping of 13, ~91DL and 6UL. BTW, it's Mbps (Mb/sec).
I have comcast... have a ping of 13, ~91DL and 6UL. BTW, it's Mbps (Mb/sec).

I have Bell Aliant Fibe .... ping of 2 ms, 333.64DL and 76.64UL

Cool speedtest.

Tim
I have Optimum cable in Brooklyn.

Ping of 10ms, 68DL and 29UL.

Ken
i have century link for my internet provider and tested my speed.

I get this with Verizon FiOS

24 ms Ping
82.6 Mbps Download
79.8 Mbps Upload

Mbps is Megabits per second.

been having issues with it actually working from time to time.

i shut everything off and my fastest download speed was 5.66mps.
my fastest upload was .068mps...is there anything i can do short
of changing internet providers? i am a novice at this and suggestions are
helpful.

What is mps? Is it bits per second? Is it Bytes per second?