Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Hello, this is my first post on the board, am excited to be apart of this community.

I am a 32 y/o professional and last year I decided to open up a Roth IRA and max it out at $5K. For 2013, I have not yet contributed and I have less than a week. I kept waiting for the market to drop but it never did, so now I will probably be investing at an all time high. I know, I know, I tried to "time the market".

I know retirement funds are for 30 years down the line but I still feel like the market is too high. Should I invest $5K for 2013 anyways? My plan was to put in $5K every year. Doing it when the market is at an all time high makes it less appealing however. Do I just stick with the fundamentals and not worry about what the market is right now?

Your advice is appreciated, thank you!
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 5
Assuming that the Roth is a self-directed account (at a brokerage somewhere), then you can go ahead and deposit the money but you don't have to "invest" it in anything yet. That is, you don't have to buy any stocks with the money that you put in to the account.
No. of Recommendations: 6
Also, the maximum contribution (assuming you're within the income limits) was increased to $5,500 in 2013, so you have an extra $500 to play with.

http://www.irs.gov/Retirement-Plans/Amount-of-Roth-IRA-Contr...

I would definitely make the contribution for 2013 now. What you invest it in within the account is up to you, but at least get the money into the account.

dols22
No. of Recommendations: 4
I kept waiting for the market to drop but it never did, so now I will probably be investing at an all time high. I know, I know, I tried to "time the market".

It's not that you "tried to time the market". It's that you made a common rookie mistake. Of investing according to your emotions. And being afraid of the market being at a recent ot alltime high.