No. of Recommendations: 1
Hi all,

Sorry if these questions are a bit elementary to many of you, but I am just beginning to learn about the bond market, and it's a little confusing.

I understand the basics - you can buy various types of government bonds from Treasury. However, I don't quite understand the different types. For example, why does an EE bond have a different yield from an I bond? And both of these are different from the 2, 10, and 30 year bonds.

Also, I don't understand what the "bond market" is, exactly. I often see in articles that the 10 year lost 18/32 with the yield rising to 4.31%. How does the yield change every day?

I'm sure that there is a FAQ document somewhere, but I haven't found it. Any help that you can offer here would be much appreciated. Thanks much!

paigerella
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 12
No need to apologize: we all started at the same place, and unfortunately the occasional, "we ought to do an FAQ," doesn't mean we do it.

I recommend the Vanguard web site as a good, straight forward, place to learn about bonds and bond funds.

A few specific answers to you questions: