No. of Recommendations: 34
I have written a new program that might be helpful to some of you who have spreadsheets that have lost the ability to get quotes from Yahoo. I have called it Yahoo Quotes and the PC version of it can be found in my dropbox at this link:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/tvpt78def5ageaa/Yahoo%20Quotes%201...

The program is zipped but once unzipped should live together in its folder wherever you want to save it. The folder contains Yahoo Quotes 1.0.exe, Yahoo Quotes Help.txt, Yahoo Quotes.db, Yahoo_Quotes_Main.livecode and a folder called Externals.

Here are the contents of the Yahoo Quotes Help.txt file in case you are interested. Pay attention at the end where it show how you might salvage that spreadsheet that stopped working when Yahoo made changes a few months ago. I am not a licensed developer so you are bound to get cautions from your OS. You just have to trust the source.

Introduction

Yahoo Quotes is a program which extracts stock quotes from the internet. It uses the Yahoo Version 7 API and JSON to get the data. It is a standalone program written in LiveCode and can be compiled to run under the Windows, MacOSX and Unix operating systems. The program is designed to get the data in ways that can easily be incorporated in Excel spreadsheets. It may have uses for people who have spreadsheets that no longer work due recent programming changes made at Yahoo. With this program they have an alternate way to get prices, for example, into their spreadsheets.

Program Layout