No. of Recommendations: 0
Hey folks,

I have a bunch of questions regarding a new credit card that I applied for and was approved with Amex. I have been doing business with Amex since 2005 and recently applied for the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) card, for which I was approved with a $2000 line of credit. I also have the Amex Clear and Amex Blue with pretty good lines of credit. I feel that I will use the SPG card the $2000 limit that I was approved for would make it appear like I was making use of at least 80-90% of the $2000 limit. I called Amex and asked them what could be done about this situation since I didn't want my credit score to be affected adversely. I am aware that opening a new CC will affect my credit score to a certain extent. I have no debt as of right now and plan to pay off my balance in full every month.

I called Amex and the rep told me that Amex could "reallocate" the line of credit that I have on the other 2 cards and put it on the SPG card, which sounds like an OK deal to me. However, since that conversation I've been wondering what kind of impact this "reallocation" will have on my credit score. I have also been thinking about closing my Amex Blue and Amex clear accounts and just having the SPG card with Amex.

I'd be grateful if you can share your thoughts/opinions/suggestions with regard to my situation/question.

Many thanks in advance!
Coolnewbie
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
coolnewbie,

You wrote, I called Amex and the rep told me that Amex could "reallocate" the line of credit that I have on the other 2 cards and put it on the SPG card, which sounds like an OK deal to me. ...

I'd be grateful if you can share your thoughts/opinions/suggestions with regard to my situation/question.

It seems reasonable to shuffle the credit lines around if you think you're going to prefer one card over another, but you still want to keep them all open. I think the account rep advised you well.